3/2022

UPTON BISHOP PARISH COUNCIL Minutes of an Ordinary Parish Council Meeting held on Monday 4th July at 19.00 in Upton Bishop Village Hall

Present

Councillors: Mark Rusby, Mike Tyers, Paul Newman and Michael Wallace and, following co-option at item 6, Councillors: Mark Shuttlewood, Guy Cooper, Andrew Parr and Claire Newman.

In attendance

Helen Tinson – on behalf of HALC (Herefordshire Association of Local Councils).12 members of the public. At the request of a Member of the Public, the meeting was recorded.

1. Election of a Chair:

Cllr Mike Tyers opened the meeting and requested nominations for a permanent Chair. Cllr Tyers proposed Cllr Rusby, seconded Cllr Wallace. It was unanimously RESOLVED to elect Cllr Mark Rusby as Chair. Cllr Rusby duly signed his Declaration of Acceptance of Office (countersigned by the Acting Clerk).

2. Consideration to access HALC Clerk Cover for the meeting:

It was unanimously RESOLVED to access HALC's CiLCA qualified Clerk/RFO Cover for the meeting.

- 3. Apologies for absence: None all members present.
- 4. Declarations of interest & written dispensation requests: None.
- 5. Minutes of PC Meeting 3rd May 2022 and Extra Ordinary Meeting 27th June 2022:

Members considered both sets of minutes as a true and proper record of the meetings.

It was unanimously RESOLVED to approve the minutes of the Ordinary Meeting on 3rd May and the Extra Ordinary Meeting on the 27th June which were duly signed by the Chair.

Alt topa

6. Co-option of applicants to fill current vacancies

The Chair explained the current position in respect of vacancies and electoral process and reported that four applications had been received to fill the remaining four vacancies. Cllr Tyers proposed that all four applicants be co-opted, seconded Cllr Wallace.

It was unanimously RESOLVED to co-opt Andrew Parr, Claire Newman, Mark Shuttlewood and Guy Cooper onto the Parish Council. All four councillors joined the council table, signed their Declaration of Acceptance of Office (countersigned by the Acting Clerk) and were issued with Herefordshire Council's Register of Interests form to be returned to Herefordshire Council within 28 days from the date of co-option.

7. Election of Vice Chair:

Cllr Rusby requested nominations for Vice Chair. Cllr Cooper proposed Cllr Mike Tyers, seconded Cllr Wallace.

It was unanimously RESOLVED to elect Cllr Mike Tyers as Vice Chair. Cllr Tyers duly signed his Declaration of Acceptance of Office (countersigned by the Acting Clerk).

8. Public Participation:

- 8.1 Ward Councillor Report Ward Cllr Barry Durkin was unable to attend the meeting and there was no report. However, a link to the report will be published on the website in due course.
- 8.2 Public Session The Chair provided guidance for the Public Session as noted in the Standing Orders and invited comments from the members of public present. There were none. The Chair gave permission for the ex-RFO to comment on banking matters during the relevant agenda item later in the meeting.

9. Neighbourhood Development Plan (NDP):

The Chair provided an update on the NDP from the previous two meetings noting that the Parish Council now await the results of the examination process through Herefordshire Council.

Hor alla

10. Finance: 10.1 Bar

Bank Account Mandate Changes ... The Chair opened the meeting and provided a brief summary of the current position. The ex RFO, Brian Spencer, was invited to comment. Mr. Spencer reported that concerns regarding the requirement for additional signatories had been discussed during the April meeting but no volunteers had been forthcoming. The Chair confirmed his intention to ensure a minimum of four new signatories would be put in place going forwards. Mr Spencer confirmed that, as he is still the nominated administrator, he had received correspondence from Lloyds Bank concerning the required mandate changes. Mr Spencer reported that he had authority from Mr Cornwall to speak on his behalf and confirmed they will both sign the documents once the draft minutes from this meeting had been received confirming that their responsibility has been relinquished following their resignation from the Parish Council.

The Chair proposed the following motion: That the Parish Council authorises Cllr Rusby (Chair), Cllr Tyers (Vice Chair), Cllr Wallace and Cllr P. Newman to be added as full signatories with (full) access to the Parish Council Lloyds accounts; that Cllr Michael Wallace is nominated as Administrator and his address used for correspondence until such time as a Clerk is in position; that ex-councillors Dr K. Harper, Mr R.K. Cornwall, Mr B. Spencer and Ms A. Feist are removed as signatories and administrator (where appropriate) for the Parish Council Lloyds bank accounts; and to approve that Mr R.K. Cornwall and Mr B. Spencer sign the mandate change documentation.

It was unanimously RESOLVED to pass this motion, proposed Cllr C. Newman, seconded Cllr Cooper. The Chair thanked Mr Spencer for his cooperation.

- **10.2** Payments ... It was unanimously RESOLVED to approve the following payments:
 - 10.2.1 Lengthsman, £576.00
 - 10.2.2 Website (old domain name), £85 (£20 domain name, £65 hosting)
 - 10.2.3 PC Insurance, £361.01
 - 10.2.4 Return of NDP underspend, £485.86
 - 10.2.5 PC contribution to Parish Jubilee Celebrations, £200.00
 - 10.2.6 PC loan repayment, £1710.13 (balance of historic loan £6486.98)

Alber ajulor

11. Annual Governance and Accountability Return (AGAR):

The Chair explained the process concerning the Parish Council's obligation to submit an Annual Governance and Accountability Return for accounts ending 31/3/22 to the External Auditor PKF Littlejohn LLP. An extension has been granted as submission was due by 1st July. It was reported that the Internal Auditor appointed at the April meeting has since declined to carry out the audit and that the Parish Council will arrange an alternative Internal Auditor and report to full council in due course.

12. Footpaths:

Cllr Andrew Parr, Footpaths Officer, reported that a fingerpost and stile are on order and awaiting delivery.

13. Chairman's Report:

Cllr Rusby acknowledged the current difficulties and wished to thank the three councillors who remained in place to ensure the Parish Council was able to continue to operate. He welcomed the four new councillors and explained the key objectives to rebuild the council, regain control of banking and finance arrangements (further thanks to Mr Spencer for helping achieve this aim) and return to the normal business of the Parish Council. He wished to thank Mark Shuttlewood, Angela Walker and all involved in the successful Jubilee event on 3rd June; Pam Steadman and all involved with the Parish Flower Festival on 4th and 5th June; and all involved with the Upton Bishop Parish Fete on 25 June, acknowledging the contribution made by volunteers on behalf of their community.

14. Date of next meeting: Proposed as Monday 2nd August 2022, to be confirmed.

DATE SIGNED