Big Dipper

The Big Dipper is an annual running race around the village. Organised by Nigel Misselbrook, it’s not called the Big Dipper for nothing. On the 10k run 90% is either running up or down hill. with the final steep hill at Probyn’s Pitch set to test you right at the end. The race is open to keen runners and fun runners.

The race started in 2006 when nearly 60 individuals braved torrential rain, thunder and lightening to complete the circular course which followed country lanes from Upton Bishop to Kempley and back. They were rewarded with excellent marshalling, a unique T shirt and tea and cakes at the Millennium Hall.  The original course has since been extended to make it a full 10km.

Alongside the adult race there are free races for children. The race starts and finishes at the Millennium Hall and is held in September/October every year.

Both club and fun runners enjoy the officially measured 10K course as a scenic challenge. As the name suggests the route is always undulating following country lanes to Kempley and returning via Tan House Lane and Probyn’s Pitch. Do not expect a 10K PB but do expect a friendly atmosphere with all finishers rewarded by a medal and free tea and cakes. Entry is £10 for UK Athletics affiliated club members and £12 for others with an extra £2 for entry on the day.

Unfortunately due to Covid the 2020 and 2021 Big Dippers did not take place but we hope it will be back in 2022.

Course Records

Sam Matchette – Unaffiliated – 35m35s (2019)

Alice Taylor – Cheltenham Harriers – 41mins 06secs [2018]

Big Dipper 10K Course

Big Dipper Start and Finish area

The Big Dipper route

The Big Dipper route

2019 Big Dipper

Another really enjoyable Big Dipper 10K in Upton Bishop with an equal mix of men and ladies as well as club and unaffiliated runners. For the men Sam Matchette produced a dominant performance to beat last year’s winner Barry Reynolds in a new course record of 35m35s.  This is a remarkable time considering the hilly nature of the Big Dipper course.  Joanna Eddy improved on her third place last year to win ahead of Leanne Meek of Forest of Dean AC in 46m46s. The youngest competitor was 17yo Imogen Marriott of Croft Ambrey Running Club and the eldest 81yo Syd Wheeler of Chepstow Harriers. All runners were rewarded with a unique medal and free tea and cakes.

The organisers are grateful for the support of Ross First Responders, Chaseview Veterinary Clinic, Bailey Farms, Chicory Crops, Fleetcare Services and Newent Autos


Ist Man – Sam Matchette, Unaffiliated, 35m35s [course record]

2nd Man – Barry Reynolds, Hereford Couriers, 36m31s

3rd Man – James Rose, Severn AC, 39m26s

1st Lady – Joanna Eddy, Unaffiliated, 46m46s

2nd Lady – Leanne Meek, Forest of Dean AC, 48m14s

3rd Lady – Jo Marriott, Croft Ambrey Running Club, 49m50s

Ist MV40 – Mike Mansfield, Gloucester AC, 42m21s

1st FV40 – Marina Wright, Spirit of Monmouth, 49m57s

1st MV50 -Stuart Penny, Spirit of Monmouth, 40m41s

1st FV50 – Sally Green, Unaffiliated, 52m30s

1st MV60 – Ian Harrhy, Lliswerry Runners, 48m43s

1st FV60 – Jacqui Wynds, Unaffiliated, 55m06s

1st MV80 – Syd Wheeler, Chepstow Harriers, 1h21m05s

!st Male Team – Spirit of Monmouth

1st Female Team – Croft Ambrey Running Club

Font Resizer